Heart’s Home

Playwright: Jo Walton
Director & Dramaturge: Laurie Steven
Dramaturge: Janet Irwin
Part of The Other Path

Heart’s Home is set on the Island of Nova Cambria, once called Atalante, home of the Tiglath. Anoon, their leader, is an ancient shape-shifting sorcerer, who loves to play tricks and fairy games on the island’s citizens. Kigva and her family realize how deadly serious these games are when they discover that life as they know it could literally disappear. A story about home and belonging, this eerie fantasy is inspired by a legendary story from the Third Branch of the Mabinogion, a work of mediaeval Welsh literature.


Jo Walton





Jo Walton is a Welsh-Canadian fantasy & science fiction writer and poet from Montreal. She has published fifteen novels, most recently Or What You Will, along with three poetry collections, two essay collections and a short story collection. She won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2002 and the World Fantasy Award for her novel Tooth and Claw in 2004. Her novel Ha’penny was a co-winner of the 2008 Prometheus Award. Her novel Lifelode won the 2010 Mythopoeic Award.  Her novel Among Others won the 2011 Nebula Award for Best Novel and the 2012 Hugo Award for Best Novel; it is one of only seven novels to have been nominated for the Hugo Award, Nebula Award, and World Fantasy Award. In 2014 her work won both the Tiptree Award (My Real Children) and the Locus Non-Fiction award (What Makes This Book So Great). Her first three novels, The King’s Peace (2000), The King’s Name (2001), and The Prize in the Game (2002), were all fantasy and set in the same world, based on Arthurian Britain and the Táin Bó Cúailnge’s Ireland. Her novel, Tooth and Claw (2003) was intended as a novel Anthony Trollope could have written, but about dragons rather than humans.